The People

A core number of institutions and individuals have joined forces on this project. In collaboration with various segments of the community, they continue to work diligently and incessantly to raise the support for the completion of the project.

The Association for the Promotion and Exhibition of the Arts in Lebanon (APEAL)

Established in 2008, The Association for the Promotion and Exhibition of the Arts in Lebanon (APEAL) has grown to become a major protagonist in supporting the arts scene in Lebanon, both internally and abroad. Through ongoing scholarships to students, grants to institutions and a series of international exhibitions that culminated in the organization of the Lebanese Pavilion at the 2013 Venice Biennale, APEAL has been instrumental in furthering promotion and opportunities for artists from Lebanon.
Université Saint Joseph (USJ)

Founded in 1875 with the aim of producing excellent students for Lebanon and the region, Université Saint Joseph’s (USJ) mission has always been centered on pluralistic cultural dialogue. In 1977, the University opened its visionary Institute of Islamo-Christian Studies. In 2010, USJ’s Faculty of Letters and Humanities inaugurated its Master’s program in art criticism and curatorial studies. A pioneering initiative in Lebanon, the program has been contributing to the formation of a young generation of critics and curators.
Major Donors

A number of important institutions and individuals amongst the Lebanese community, both within the country and abroad, are dedicated supporters of the museum. Representing the diversity of affinities that make up Lebanon’s multi-layered society, they have wholeheartedly rallied behind the project, constituting the core of patrons such an ambitious undertaking requires.

Architecture Competition Jury

The competition’s independent jury of renowned international and regional experts is chaired by Lord Peter Palumbo, Chair of the Pritzker Prize, and included Lord Richard Rogers, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Julia Peyton-Jones, Rodolphe Khoury, Rem Koolhaas, Lamia Joreige, Fares Al Dahdah and George Arbid. Until her sudden recent passing Zaha Hadid was also an active member of the jury.

Shortlisted Architects

109 Architectes s.a.r.l.
Bernard Khoury / DW5
Hashim Sarkis Studios, LLC
HW architecture
ibda design
IDC / Verner Johnson / ETEC SA
L.E.FT Architects
Lina Ghotmeh / DGT Architects
Najjar Najjar Architect
Raëd Abillama Architects / Nadim Khattar
WORK Architecture Company (WORKac)
Yatsu Chahal Architects (YCa) / Said Jazari Consulting Office (SJCO)
Youssef Tohme Architects and Associates (YTAA)